Translation for my community

Discuss and coordinate development of mainline and user-made content translations.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Lòrien Silverbow
Posts: 33
Joined: November 6th, 2004, 11:00 am
Location: Prato, Italy
Contact:

Translation for my community

Post by Lòrien Silverbow »

Hi everybody, i'm new on this forum and i wish to know something about translation:

I own a community for RpG and also Wesnoth and I was thinking... is it possible to create some files (which had to overwrite old files) who change names of units and other things?

Is it easy to do? I'm a newbye.. :? if it's possible pleas write me down some hints...

thanks in advance (ah, I apologize for my english... :wink: )
Signature dropped due to use of img tag

Circon
Posts: 1200
Joined: November 17th, 2003, 4:26 am
Location: Right behind Gwiti, coding

Post by Circon »

Yes, it is. Make a translation file, in some language with a name like "D&D English" where you only 'translate' those names you want changed. Select your language, and voila! You don't even have to overwrite.
It probably won't be official though.

cedric
Posts: 320
Joined: January 24th, 2004, 10:27 pm
Location: Rennes, France
Contact:

Post by cedric »

Circon wrote:Yes, it is. Make a translation file, in some language with a name like "D&D English" where you only 'translate' those names you want changed. Select your language, and voila!
And voilà, it doesn't work! Well, currently it won't be that easy to just "plug in" a new translation. You have to change some code and recompile wesnoth to make it aware of the new language.

--
Cedric

Circon
Posts: 1200
Joined: November 17th, 2003, 4:26 am
Location: Right behind Gwiti, coding

Post by Circon »

Oops. Well, I gave the method, you handle the code.

scott
Posts: 5242
Joined: May 12th, 2004, 12:35 am
Location: Alexandria, VA

Post by scott »

We need a 1337 10C41!z4710|\|. Not exactly "need" but just think of the utter magnitude of geek points to be reaped here! I bet there's a website that can do it automatically, and if not it should be scriptable if there are only 1-for-1 exchanges.

Edit: I think I just doomed this post to sure deletion. *evil laugh*
Hope springs eternal.
Wesnoth acronym guide.

Circon
Posts: 1200
Joined: November 17th, 2003, 4:26 am
Location: Right behind Gwiti, coding

Post by Circon »

|\|07 3\/3|\| |)31f4|)0r (4|\| 54\/3 7h§5 7hr34d |\|0\/\/ iiii
(Not even Delfador can save this thread now !!!!) (from deletion)

Lòrien Silverbow
Posts: 33
Joined: November 6th, 2004, 11:00 am
Location: Prato, Italy
Contact:

Post by Lòrien Silverbow »

cedric wrote: You have to change some code and recompile wesnoth to make it aware of the new language.

--
Cedric
How? I think I can't do it... mh...
Signature dropped due to use of img tag

Post Reply