Wesnoth 1.1.10 (aka Wesnoth 1.2 beta3)

Get help with compiling or installing the game, and discuss announcements of new official releases.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

isaac
Inactive Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: January 15th, 2004, 5:09 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain
Contact:

Wesnoth 1.1.10 (aka Wesnoth 1.2 beta3)

Post by isaac »

Wesnoth 1.1.10 is out!

1.1.10 is our third beta for the forthcoming 1.2 release.

1.1.10 contains important bugfixes (including the fix for the most reported bug in Wesnoth's history aka Trident bug) that should improve the playing experience. Please, continue reporting bugs to make 1.2 a shiny and spiffy release.

You can check details at the changelog.

Downloads:
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wesn ... z?download
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wesn ... 5?download
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wesn ... g?download

You can get the XDelta between 1.1.9 and 1.1.10 source code:
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wesn ... 110.xdelta

Check http://www.wesnoth.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7034 for info on using xdelta.

As a fallback you can also get files from
http://files.wesnoth.org/ - you should first try to get files
through SourceForge to help us save bandwidth.

devsrv.wesnoth.org:14999 is ready to be used for multiplayer games

Instructions for bug reporting can be found at
http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/ReportingBugs

The Mac OS X build is already available at:
Standard http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wesn ... g?download
Lite http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wesn ... g?download

Packages for Debian will be available soon and the Windows packager has already been notified.

Enjoy!
Last edited by isaac on October 5th, 2006, 1:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Temuchin Khan
Posts: 1729
Joined: September 3rd, 2004, 6:35 pm
Location: Player 6 on the original Agaia map

Post by Temuchin Khan »

Wow! Forest of Fear is completely different! It may be more balanced, and I suspect it is, but I'm just amazed at the extensive changes.
changelog wrote:scenarios can set faction, recruit, leader, and some other initial settings previously ignored in multiplayer
Does this mean "designers of multiplayer scenarios can set...." or is there some other meaning?
isaac
Inactive Developer
Posts: 173
Joined: January 15th, 2004, 5:09 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain
Contact:

Post by isaac »

Temuchin Khan wrote:
changelog wrote:scenarios can set faction, recruit, leader, and some other initial settings previously ignored in multiplayer
Does this mean "designers of multiplayer scenarios can set...." or is there some other meaning?
Yes, AFAIK that's the meaning.
Urk
Posts: 21
Joined: October 29th, 2005, 9:57 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Post by Urk »

I have played lot of games, but for some time now only game I have played is wesnoth ... I think that says a lot.

Gameplay is simple, but still there is lot of different tactics and really difficult scenarios if you want some challence.

Making own campaigns etc. is easy. (though wml is quite awkward for some things, but nothing is perfect)

Just wanted to say that Wesnoth is one of the best games I have ever played, keep up the good work!
Star Gazer
Posts: 110
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 10:06 am
Location: North Norfolk, UK

Post by Star Gazer »

Hear, hear!!

I have quite a lot of full-price games, and quite frankly, they just don't get the playing they probably deserve, because Wesnoth is so much fun!
Yogibear
Retired Developer
Posts: 1086
Joined: September 16th, 2005, 5:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by Yogibear »

I am proud of you!! No one has yet asked when... (ok, you know what is coming now :wink: ).

If nothing serious gets in my way, you won't have to wait much longer :) .
Smart persons learn out of their mistakes, wise persons learn out of others mistakes!
Esker
Posts: 2
Joined: September 22nd, 2006, 5:31 pm

Post by Esker »

Ok, newbie here, I do not see a exe or msi or even a file named setup... in the download file for 1.1.10. I am feeling dense, because I am sure that I am missing something...

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Esker
freim
Retired Terrain Art Director
Posts: 1113
Joined: November 29th, 2003, 11:40 pm
Location: Norway

Post by freim »

Esker wrote:Ok, newbie here, I do not see a exe or msi or even a file named setup... in the download file for 1.1.10. I am feeling dense, because I am sure that I am missing something...

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Esker
You have downloaded the source code which needs to be compiled for a specific platform to be run. Wait for the Windows binary which Yogi Bear will make shortly.
Yogibear
Retired Developer
Posts: 1086
Joined: September 16th, 2005, 5:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by Yogibear »

And here they are:

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/wesn ... e?download


I struggled with a bug recently: https://gna.org/bugs/index.php?4857

The short story: If you setup a network game with your client, a lot of server functionality is missing. I decided not to add this, since it would end up making a second server inside of the client (maybe someone else does sometime).

To still provide a solution to this, i added the multiplayer server to the binaries. If you install, you will find a corresponding link in your wesnoth program group.

How to use this?
Simple, click on the link, server pops up in a DOS console window. Just let it stay there, start wesnoth, go to multiplayer then "join game". Type in either the IP-address of your computer or "localhost" and you are logged into your own server. Tell others the IP-address and they can do the same. This is the whole server functionality in contrast to a network game. I hope this makes up for not fixing the bug, adding as little overhead as possible atm.

Have fun :) .
Smart persons learn out of their mistakes, wise persons learn out of others mistakes!
pqueiro
Posts: 44
Joined: January 18th, 2006, 1:07 am
Location: Lisboa, Portugal, EU

Post by pqueiro »

Thanks :) I can compile Wesnoth just fine on my gentoo box, but I always end up getting confused on Windows :P good work Yogi Bear, thanks!
Had I been present at the Creation I would've given some hints as to the better ordering of the Universe...
User avatar
Viliam
Translator
Posts: 1341
Joined: January 30th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Post by Viliam »

To whom it may concern: Please update the link at homepage.
User avatar
Wintermute
Inactive Developer
Posts: 840
Joined: March 23rd, 2006, 10:28 pm
Location: On IRC as "happygrue" at: #wesnoth-mp

mmmmaster of replays

Post by Wintermute »

Thanks Yogi, you da man!
"I just started playing this game a few days ago, and I already see some balance issues."
User avatar
Viliam
Translator
Posts: 1341
Joined: January 30th, 2004, 11:07 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Contact:

Post by Viliam »

isaac, perhaps you could put URLs like this in the new version announcements:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=198360
because they "update automatically" when a new binary is published.
Assasin
Posts: 956
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 3:51 am
Location: Where ever my mind takes me
Contact:

Post by Assasin »

Something I noticed while playing with an old campaign I wrote. My units have the old long and short attacks, but the new ones use melee and ranged. Both of them work, but because the attack names are different they won't defend when attacked. The old short and long thing should be removed to solve this.
I speak what's on my mind.

Which is why nothing I say makes sense.
ILikeProgramming
Posts: 837
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:17 am

Post by ILikeProgramming »

I always though the change was out of place. I wasn't around when it was done, but I see no reason behind it.


It's really up to campaign developers to change this.
Post Reply