"Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
rawww
Posts: 2
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 12:57 pm

"Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by rawww »

Keep getting the message "Could not connect to host" when trying to get onto the multiplayer server, just wondering if anyone else is having this problem? or how i can fix it?
cobra
Posts: 273
Joined: October 6th, 2008, 1:57 pm
Location: USA, Land of the free, Home of the brave.

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by cobra »

Yeah, the same thing happened to me. :x Really ticks me off.
Thank you President Bush
Ask not what wesnoth can do for you, but what you can do for wesnoth.-cobra
User avatar
e7th04sh
Posts: 38
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 1:07 pm

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by e7th04sh »

Yep, i have it as well with 1.5.6 which i just downloaded.

Is the server down?
rawww
Posts: 2
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 12:57 pm

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by rawww »

Just found out i can connect to alternate servers just not the main one or the addon server.
User avatar
e7th04sh
Posts: 38
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 1:07 pm

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by e7th04sh »

Checked this out, and the alternative two servers return a message, that they require "1.5*svn" version, with mine being 1.5.6
User avatar
e7th04sh
Posts: 38
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 1:07 pm

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by e7th04sh »

It seems wesnoth.org expieriences major technical problems, the site was down for a long time and some services are still not working. This includes wiki, add-on's and unfortunately, game lobby.
Guillaume777
Posts: 11
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 2:21 pm

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by Guillaume777 »

e7th04sh wrote:Checked this out, and the alternative two servers return a message, that they require "1.5*svn" version, with mine being 1.5.6
Try connecting to port 14999 of server #2.
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by Turuk »

To clear up any confusion, there was an issue with the hard drive at the dedicated hosting facility, and then a snafu with them correctly identifying which server belonged to Wesnoth. After they identified the server and the problem, the developers were working to use the backup from the second hard drive and get the website, wiki, forums and MP servers back online. Obviously not everything has been accomplished yet, but just be patient and the issue will be addressed soon.

So know that the problem was handled as quickly as possible, and believe it or not, the devs do work to help the players. :wink:

EDIT: To all those I am directing to read this post, the website, forums, and MP servers have been brought back online (obviously for the first two). However, some details like PMing on the forums and the wiki are still down, so please be patient.
Last edited by Turuk on December 11th, 2008, 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
User avatar
e7th04sh
Posts: 38
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 1:07 pm

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by e7th04sh »

Hell, the whole game was created by the developers, so who doubts their good will? :lol2:
WK1
Posts: 20
Joined: March 12th, 2007, 9:45 am

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by WK1 »

To log in to an alternate server, select Multiplayer, and then "Connect to Server" instead of the regular "Join Official Server".

Try these links for some alternate servers:
http://74.125.113.132/search?q=cache:Lj ... te+servers
http://wesnoth.dbzer0.com/blog/2008/07/ ... yer-server

The first one is Google's cache of the official wesnoth wiki, which is down right now. server2.wesnoth.org seems to work OK now.
Soliton
Site Administrator
Posts: 1628
Joined: April 5th, 2005, 3:25 pm
Location: #wesnoth-mp

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by Soliton »

The official multiplayer servers are up again.

I've also fixed the version issue on the alternate servers. (They allow any 1.5 version since I'm too lazy to update them so you need to take a bit care yourself there.)
"If gameplay requires it, they can be made to live on Venus." -- scott
LoneIgadzra
Posts: 2
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 7:06 pm
Location: The Sticks, Maine
Contact:

Re: "Could not connect to host" multiplayer probs.

Post by LoneIgadzra »

Does anyone else get this message when trying to host a LAN game? The option has disappeared in the current stable version, and doesn't work in the dev. version. I am quite confused.
The autotrophic organisms are decidedly more verdent when located on an adjacent surface.
Post Reply