Make art for user-made content.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
Zerovirus
Art Contributor

Zero's art

Post by Zerovirus »

Two first-page posts in spoilers below, both outdated to varying degrees.
Spoiler:
Spoiler:
Last edited by Zerovirus on January 18th, 2013, 1:16 am, edited 34 times in total.
Turuk
Sithslayer

Re: Zero's Topic Of Random Graphics

Post by Turuk »

Zerovirus wrote:(As a sidenote, what's the policy on frankensteins that you made from other people's sprites? Do you have to give credit for the parts you used?)
It never hurts to ask, but everything released is under GPL, and so is fair game for anyone else to borrow to use.
Zerovirus wrote:I have an idea for a faction. I think I understand how Wesnoth gameplay works, but I have zero knowledge of WML. First off, I know that they're readable by text editors, but I have no idea where these files are located in the Wesnoth folder. Could someone tell me where, say, some unit files are located?
My suggestion for you if you want to make a faction would be to download a faction from the add-on server, and then find it in your userdata folder so you can open the files to see how it is done.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
Huston

Post by Huston »

1) get paint.NET it's pretty much the same as paint just it has more support features like transparency. ( i like paint and tried going to gimp. didn't work out so well.)

2) for coding wml check out the reference wiki

3) on windows. find your wesnoth folder. from there goto.

data>core>units
there you will find folders that contain all the units included in mainline.
Zerovirus
Art Contributor

Post by Zerovirus »

Okay, thanks guys.

Since apparently frankensteins are allowed, I'll post, I think 2 more units.