Connection failed:An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host

The place to post your WML questions and answers.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
  • Please use [code] BBCode tags in your posts for embedding WML snippets.
  • To keep your code readable so that others can easily help you, make sure to indent it following our conventions.
User avatar
LordAwsomeness
Posts: 191
Joined: August 12th, 2013, 2:20 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Connection failed:An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host

Post by LordAwsomeness »

Ravana wrote:
March 13th, 2020, 6:47 am
Instead of show_if, it is generally possible to use normal if - to not insert the options into message if condition is not true.

I do not currently have any good examples, but this is somewhat fitting. https://github.com/ProditorMagnus/Agele ... s.lua#L142 If it would be inside function/wml_action, then the line could be for example

Code: Select all

-- local T = wml.tag -- I use such shortcut
if cfg.something then 
    table.insert(message, T.option{
        --option content
    })
end
im still working on the lua, but I wanted to find a temporary fix while im working on learning the lua. I have a question however. I couldn't make the method that you both were giving me, however I created a new method instead. the new method incorporates a fire event. it drastically cut down on the total amount of options being read by the preprocessor. however I am trying to understand if I potentially messed up on my code or if fired events are unable to change the options displayed. In my attempts to swap weapons, the page stays the same and the variables dont change.
Are the options that are displayed able to be changed?


EDIT: nevermind, it was an inconsistency that I had in my variables. it works perfectly now. hell even better than before.
- Been playing Wesnoth since 2004 and the 1.0.x versions.
- Creator of Undead Invasion MP Scenario Pack.
- Creator of Valeria MP Adventure
- Creator of LA_RPG ERA

plaridelph
Posts: 1
Joined: May 11th, 2020, 3:00 am

Re: Connection failed:An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host

Post by plaridelph »

Same problem here.
Details

OS -Windows 10

The Battle for Wesnoth version 1.14.11
Running on Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0.18362)
Distribution channel: SourceForge

Game paths
==========

Data dir: C:\Program Files (x86)\Battle for Wesnoth 1.14.11
User config dir: C:\Users\USER\Documents\My Games\Wesnoth1.14
User data dir: C:\Users\USER\Documents\My Games\Wesnoth1.14
Saves dir: C:\Users\USER\Documents\My Games\Wesnoth1.14\saves
Add-ons dir: C:\Users\USER\Documents\My Games\Wesnoth1.14\data\add-ons
Cache dir: C:\Users\USER\Documents\My Games\Wesnoth1.14\cache

Libraries
=========

Boost: 1.59
OpenSSL/libcrypto: 1.1.0f (runtime 1.1.0f)
Cairo: 1.10.2 (runtime 1.10.2)
Pango: 1.30.1 (runtime 1.30.1)
SDL: 2.0.4 (runtime 2.0.4)
SDL_image: 2.0.0 (runtime 2.0.0)
SDL_mixer: 2.0.0 (runtime 2.0.0)
SDL_ttf: 2.0.12 (runtime 2.0.12)

Features
========

JPEG screenshots: no
Lua console completion: yes
Legacy bidirectional rendering: no
Win32 notifications back end: yes

Step by Step
1. Join the Server
2. Create game A New Land
3. After a few minutes, I got kicked out from the server.Image[/img][/img]
Attachments
screenshot error message
screenshot error message
logs
logs

Soliton
Site Administrator
Posts: 1619
Joined: April 5th, 2005, 3:25 pm
Location: #wesnoth-mp

Re: Connection failed:An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host

Post by Soliton »

That's entirely normal.Your connection timed out. The server side will have a different timeout or is in a different state to discover the disconnect so your old connection can still be there when you re-connect. You can just click OK and your old connection will be removed. Then you can create your game again or re-join it if it already started.
"If gameplay requires it, they can be made to live on Venus." -- scott

Post Reply