Spacenoth: New Year's Alpha released!

It's not easy creating an entire faction or era. Post your work and collaborate in this forum.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

SkeletonCrew
Inactive Developer
Posts: 787
Joined: March 31st, 2006, 6:55 am

Post by SkeletonCrew »

ILikeProgramming wrote:That was my reaction as well when I was working on the first demo.

I think the main reason is lack of terrain variety. But I have no idea what new terrains should be or whether their are enough letters left for them.
New letters will be solved in the near future, with the new terrain system in 1.3. 1.3 needs other letters but the amount of custom letters there is huge.

For 1.2 these letters are listed but not used $.;:<>_` and ½§@% as well as j and O since 1.2 is released and no new features are added is should be "save" to use them.
dreampilot
Posts: 100
Joined: November 6th, 2005, 4:36 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by dreampilot »

Glad to see we're getting feedback :D

There are some issues with the current alpha version. The terrain being most appearant since factions had additions just before letting the demo go "live" the reason it's let live at this time is to try and convince people Spacenoth is a cool project and will need aid in order to reach completion. Unit Art and Terrain are is an area where there could definatly be more people helping and adding along side the current ones.

The terrain idea post is always helpful, thanks a bunch. We've had alot of them as suggestions but have not yet had a good way to implement and illustrate them.

One problem with space is that there is really not much there.. hence the "boring maps" but realism comes after playability and fun in this case and we definatly want more terrain types.

As with all alpha versions there are alot of child sicknesses. It is unbalanced in some areas and lacking in others. It should entertain a moment longer when playing in multiplayer since you get to try out all the factions basic shiptypes that are not yet introduced in the campaign.

It does need some more and improved mp maps and hopefully the next release will hold such and try create a fun scenario.

Either way this is a very good way for us to recieve feedback and help and raise averness aswell as interest people who think they might like to play Spacenoth games.

/dreampilot
User avatar
irrevenant
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3692
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 7:57 am
Location: I'm all around you.

Post by irrevenant »

Just installed it now.

Two very quick observations:

"Scambling" = "Scrambling" & "unkown" = "unknown".

The starfield in the background looks far, far too dense to me. Probably all the dark blue dots could be removed.

[Later thoughts]

"Asteroid field" is more traditional than "asteroids field" - much like a "minefield" has more than one mine...

And the planet is still called "Village".

Heh. I like the dialogue.

The in-game help could use bringing in line with Spacenoth - I'd like to know what the "charged" and "sturdy" traits actually do.

P.S. There's a satellite floating in space that doesn't seem to do anything (image attached). Is it just part of the background, or am I missing something?
Attachments
satellite.jpg
satellite.jpg (1.38 KiB) Viewed 3281 times
unsung
Posts: 708
Joined: May 15th, 2005, 5:54 pm
Location: Raging somewhere..

Post by unsung »

Pilot max makes me want to shoot him in the teeth, but the demo is fun otherwise.
Oh no look out its a ray gun.
You should move to avoid the rays
the rays are coming out of the gun
if you are hit by the rays
you will be shot by the rays
the rays are fast so you should be fast to
can you win against the fast rays from the gun?
SkeletonCrew
Inactive Developer
Posts: 787
Joined: March 31st, 2006, 6:55 am

Post by SkeletonCrew »

irrevenant wrote:And the planet is still called "Village".
Village is hardcoded for the mouse over. (It's translatable, but the Wesnoth sets the word village in the proper language.)
User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9742
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Post by zookeeper »

SkeletonCrew wrote:
irrevenant wrote:And the planet is still called "Village".
Village is hardcoded for the mouse over. (It's translatable, but the Wesnoth sets the word village in the proper language.)
I'd be very surprised if you couldn't override that with a custom terrain.
SkeletonCrew
Inactive Developer
Posts: 787
Joined: March 31st, 2006, 6:55 am

Post by SkeletonCrew »

zookeeper wrote:
SkeletonCrew wrote: Village is hardcoded for the mouse over. (It's translatable, but the Wesnoth sets the word village in the proper language.)
I'd be very surprised if you couldn't override that with a custom terrain.
I'm always in for a nice surprice :twisted:
http://devdocs.wesnoth.org/reports_8cpp-source.html
start to read at line 373

At other moments (IIRC when selecting the terrain) the name shown is the name set in the terrain.cfg, which can be set for every terrain. This is controlled by the alias system as well, so if that results in village it's possible to change.
User avatar
zookeeper
WML Wizard
Posts: 9742
Joined: September 11th, 2004, 10:40 pm
Location: Finland

Post by zookeeper »

SkeletonCrew wrote:
zookeeper wrote:I'd be very surprised if you couldn't override that with a custom terrain.
I'm always in for a nice surprice :twisted:
http://devdocs.wesnoth.org/reports_8cpp-source.html
start to read at line 373

At other moments (IIRC when selecting the terrain) the name shown is the name set in the terrain.cfg, which can be set for every terrain. This is controlled by the alias system as well, so if that results in village it's possible to change.
Uh, yeah, that sucks. I tried this:

Code: Select all

[terrain]
	symbol_image=village-human-tile
	id=notavillage
	name= _ "NotAVillage"
	char=z
	heals=8
	gives_income=true
[/terrain]
...but apparently the gives_income= key is what makes the game label it as a "Village", which IMO is completely unnecessary (or at least I don't see any reason to do so, the game should just display the terrain name the terrain itself defines).
Last edited by zookeeper on January 5th, 2007, 5:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
irrevenant
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3692
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 7:57 am
Location: I'm all around you.

Post by irrevenant »

zookeeper wrote:...but apparently the gives_income= key is what makes the game label it as a "Village", which IMO is completely unnecessary (or at least I don't see any reason to do so, the game should just display the terrain name the terrain itself defines).
Looks like it does it so it can tweak the description (eg. "Owned Village", "Enemy Village") but yeh, it would be preferable if that were more flexible.

I guess when they first coded that, they didn't anticipate anyone turning the villages into planets. :)
ILikeProgramming
Posts: 837
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:17 am

Post by ILikeProgramming »

irrevenant wrote:P.S. There's a satellite floating in space that doesn't seem to do anything (image attached). Is it just part of the background, or am I missing something?
It's just background.
catwhowalksbyhimself
Posts: 411
Joined: January 23rd, 2006, 8:28 am

Post by catwhowalksbyhimself »

So why can't it be separate terrain?

Some ships can use its sensors to help them to move around and fight, to others, they just get in the way.

Makes sense to me.
SkeletonCrew
Inactive Developer
Posts: 787
Joined: March 31st, 2006, 6:55 am

Post by SkeletonCrew »

irrevenant wrote:
zookeeper wrote:...but apparently the gives_income= key is what makes the game label it as a "Village", which IMO is completely unnecessary (or at least I don't see any reason to do so, the game should just display the terrain name the terrain itself defines).
Looks like it does it so it can tweak the description (eg. "Owned Village", "Enemy Village") but yeh, it would be preferable if that were more flexible.

I guess when they first coded that, they didn't anticipate anyone turning the villages into planets. :)
A lot of things where not anticipated ;)

I'll add support for translating these strings in my terrain branch so it will be in the trunk in a little while.
ILikeProgramming
Posts: 837
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:17 am

Post by ILikeProgramming »

Your terrain system will be in 1.3 ! :shock: :D

That's good :D
User avatar
irrevenant
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3692
Joined: August 15th, 2005, 7:57 am
Location: I'm all around you.

Post by irrevenant »

Also, it would be good to have proper names for the new recruits rather than just naming them after their craft ("I am the scout known as "Scout"").
ILikeProgramming wrote:
irrevenant wrote:P.S. There's a satellite floating in space that doesn't seem to do anything (image attached). Is it just part of the background, or am I missing something?
It's just background.
It's a good graphic, but it looks too important to just be background. Perhaps it could be used as a type of terrain? (eg. it's a jamming sattelite that makes it hard to lock on anything in that hex).

P.S. Given that the planets take up 7 hexes visually, could the outer hexes symbolise something (gravity field, maybe?) rather than just being space hexes?

P.P.S. Pilot Max appears to just be flying a Scout - shouldn't his description just say 'scout' then? Or maybe "Scout Leader".
User avatar
Maeglin Dubh
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 1154
Joined: November 16th, 2005, 8:38 pm
Location: Valley of the Shadow of Death
Contact:

Post by Maeglin Dubh »

Let me throw this out for consideration....

Should Terran units be named for the pilot, the callsign, or the craft?

Examples...

Alex Walker, Jim Harrison, etc...

Vs.

Alex "Hammer" Walker, Jim "Darkside" Harrison, etc...

vs.

Lucky Lass, Outrider, Surprise II, Tiger, etc....
Cuyo Quiz wrote:I really should push for Temuchin's brainstorming with all my might someday, when the skies are cloudy, the winds dance and the light is free to roam over the soil along the fog.
Post Reply