[interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Developers

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
Post Reply
Lorbi
Posts: 162
Joined: May 21st, 2007, 6:35 am
Contact:

[interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by Lorbi »

The idea is very simple: Doubleclick on a castle square opens the recruit menu. (if you can recruit)
-- ^ --
User avatar
MetalKing
Posts: 197
Joined: July 8th, 2011, 11:34 am

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by MetalKing »

Sounds good to me. Can anybody see Problems by this special "Mouse-Syntax"? (covering other Actions)
"Sir! We are surrounded by our enemies!" - "Excellent ! We can attack in every direction!"
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." -- Albert Einstein
No Source - No Binary - No Trust!
Map Wesnoth Springs - The great War [200x120],Player=9
User avatar
Flameslash
Posts: 633
Joined: December 21st, 2008, 12:29 pm

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by Flameslash »

I can't think of any.
User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
Posts: 1666
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by Celtic_Minstrel »

It seems like it would potentially conflict with nearly everything else (eg "move unit here"), since it's probably not trivial to distinguish double-click from single-click.
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.
tuggyne
Posts: 76
Joined: May 22nd, 2011, 5:52 am

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by tuggyne »

Celtic_Minstrel wrote:It seems like it would potentially conflict with nearly everything else (eg "move unit here"), since it's probably not trivial to distinguish double-click from single-click.
It isn't. Fortunately, OSes make a habit of doing this for you (or at least providing the ability to distinguish them fairly easily).
fabi
Inactive Developer
Posts: 1254
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by fabi »

tuggyne wrote:
Celtic_Minstrel wrote:It seems like it would potentially conflict with nearly everything else (eg "move unit here"), since it's probably not trivial to distinguish double-click from single-click.
It isn't. Fortunately, OSes make a habit of doing this for you (or at least providing the ability to distinguish them fairly easily).
No.
The OS doesn't help there.
It's a matter of libSDL coding in our case.
User avatar
Celtic_Minstrel
Developer
Posts: 1666
Joined: August 3rd, 2012, 11:26 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by Celtic_Minstrel »

tuggyne wrote:It isn't. Fortunately, OSes make a habit of doing this for you (or at least providing the ability to distinguish them fairly easily).
Which doesn't help much, since as a portable program Wesnoth can't really rely on OS-specific services. And, having used SDL myself, I happen to know that it has no double-click event.
Author of The Black Cross of Aleron campaign and Default++ era.
Maintainer of Steelhive.
tuggyne
Posts: 76
Joined: May 22nd, 2011, 5:52 am

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by tuggyne »

Celtic_Minstrel wrote:
tuggyne wrote:It isn't. Fortunately, OSes make a habit of doing this for you (or at least providing the ability to distinguish them fairly easily).
Which doesn't help much, since as a portable program Wesnoth can't really rely on OS-specific services. And, having used SDL myself, I happen to know that it has no double-click event.
Hmm, my mistake. :augh:
User avatar
MetalKing
Posts: 197
Joined: July 8th, 2011, 11:34 am

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by MetalKing »

double-click-event should be possible to implement..
"Sir! We are surrounded by our enemies!" - "Excellent ! We can attack in every direction!"
"Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler." -- Albert Einstein
No Source - No Binary - No Trust!
Map Wesnoth Springs - The great War [200x120],Player=9
fabi
Inactive Developer
Posts: 1254
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 2:42 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [interface] Recruit via doubleclick

Post by fabi »

MetalKing wrote:double-click-event should be possible to implement..
Yes, sure.
Patches are welcome.
Post Reply