Version 0.3.8 (development)

Discussion among members of the development team.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Version 0.3.8 (development)

Post by Dave »

I have released another development version:
EDIT: Use this version instead: http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/files/wesn ... .10.tar.gz

fixes:

- fixed bug reported by ettin with unit description images being messed up if you zoom in
- fixed time to load a game

new features:

- use new dynamically generated buttons based on ettin's base button
- use anti-aliased fonts
- addition of a multi-player mode that allows hot seat multiplayer games to be played
- added button 'n' which takes you to the 'next' unmoved unit. You can cycle through all your unmoved units by pressing 'n' repeatedly
- added 'preferences' item in options menu. The one preference at the moment is to be able to toggle between windowed and full-screen from within the game.

ai changes:

- ai leaders will now attack you if you move next to them
- the ai now targets units that are close to advancing more, and tries to protect and advance its own units better.

game-balance changes:

- mage's attack changed to 8-2
- human fencer unit added

If there are no major bugs found in this version, it is likely to become version 0.4, which will be announced on happypenguin and freshmeat.

So assuming this version works well, would anyone be interested in a play-by-email game where we send the save file to each other by email? We could even try a four player game. If multiplayer turns out to be fun, I could look at implementing network play :-)

David
Last edited by Dave on August 23rd, 2003, 11:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

Make fails (debian sid, gcc 3.3.2):

Code: Select all

menu.o(.text+0x604): Function `gui::show_dialog(display&, SDL_Surface*, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&, gui::DIALOG_TYPE, std::vector<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::allocator<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > > > const*, std::vector<unit, std::allocator<unit> > const*, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >*)':
: reference to `gui::textbox::textbox[in-charge](display&, int, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&)' undefined
...
similar errors
...
: reference to `terminate(void)' undefined

make: *** [wesnoth] Error 1
I have released another development version: http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/wesnoth-0.3.8.tar.gz
In order to have an organized web... you can upload the files in the files/ directory ;).
If there are no major bugs found in this version, it is likely to become version 0.4, which will be announced on happypenguin and freshmeat.
Is it possible to update the website URL's too (freshmeat and happypenguin)?
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

I solved the problem.

Code: Select all

cd widgets/
rm *.o
Only should remove the object files from the widgets directory ;).
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

AI bug... enemies can't attack and the game starts an infinite loop:

Code: Select all

BEGIN: doing ai move
took 0 ticks for 0 positions. Analyzing...
simulations: 8
analysis took 0 ticks
b
finding targets...
adding target: 0, 23
adding target: 1, 23
adding target: 2, 19
adding target: 3, 1
adding target: 3, 7
adding target: 3, 16
adding target: 6, 19
adding target: 7, 21
adding target: 8, 14
adding target: 9, 3
adding target: 11, 23
adding target: 12, 1
adding target: 12, 8
adding target: 16, 6
adding target: 16, 22
adding target: 17, 14
adding target: 19, 10
adding target: 22, 0
adding target: 22, 7
adding target: 22, 16
choosing move...
no eligible units found
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Oooooops :oops:

I should test after doing that 'last trivial change' I guess huh?

Hopefully this version won't embarass myself so badly: http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/files/wesn ... .10.tar.gz

David
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Run make clean before you tarball the source for release *grin*

A bit more cleaning needed in Makefile. Patch for makefile here

- Miyo
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

Another similar AI bug (scenario 3 only):

Code: Select all

BEGIN: doing ai move
took 0 ticks for 0 positions. Analyzing...
simulations: 8
analysis took 0 ticks
b
finding targets...
adding target: 1, 9
adding target: 1, 22
adding target: 1, 33
adding target: 2, 18
adding target: 3, 27
adding target: 4, 13
adding target: 6, 2
adding target: 6, 9
adding target: 6, 37
adding target: 9, 14
adding target: 11, 0
adding target: 11, 5
adding target: 12, 17
adding target: 13, 11
adding target: 15, 2
adding target: 15, 26
adding target: 17, 25
adding target: 18, 23
adding target: 20, 7
adding target: 21, 2
adding target: 24, 5
adding target: 27, 1
choosing move...
no eligible units found
There is problem with in-game buttons: they are 2px higher than normal.
Image
And finally, I designed it with an 11px bold font... so they look far better (in my opinion) with a size of 13 instead of 14 ;).
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Okay, I have released a provisional 0.4: http://wesnoth.whitevine.net/files/wesnoth-0.4.tar.gz

If I don't hear any severe bug reports about it soon, I'm going to announce it on some sites and make available a Windows version.

David

Changes;

- fixed missiles up to point in the correct direction
- fixed naming of Shallow Water and Deep Water (used to be 'ocean' and 'coast' and not internationalized properly)
- removed bug where a dialog could overwrite part of the sidebar on the right
- added resistance tables and terrain movement and defense tables to 'unit description'
- added unit descriptions to many more units
- changed rectangle on the map of Wesnoth to cross as suggested by ettin
- completed scenario 9
- fixed problem in scenario 3 where the game would hang during the AI's turn.
- added gryphon rider unit and put them in scenario 9
- now you have to 'kill' Li'sar in scenario 6 before she'll surrender
- Wraith's damage taken up from 7 to 8.
- when a unit is recruited, it now fades in
- added more cleaning in Makefile as per miyo's suggestions
- changed movement of red mage, arch mage, and great mage from 7 to 6. With teleporting, 7 movement is too powerful. May even reduce to 5 later.
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

Well I got impatient and have gone ahead and released 0.4. I did play with it a while myself, so I hope it has no major bugs :-)

ettin, feel free to change anything on the web page, or to add screenshots etc.

Screenshots with the new font would be nice.

David
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

Page updated with new screenshots.

Forum bug?: Only moderators can read the "Announcements" forum, so you are the only one who can read them :P.
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Bug: I don't see dots anymore in scenario prologues... just the X.

Bug: save game in the middle of scenario, quit, load the saved game, complete the scenario, save game when it asks about it, quit, load saved game... -> The file you loaded is corrupted.
ettin
Lord of Glamdrol
Posts: 369
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 2:05 pm
Contact:

Post by ettin »

Bug: I don't see dots anymore in scenario prologues... just the X.
That don't happens to me. I can see the dots.
Dave
Founding Developer
Posts: 7071
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 5:07 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Dave »

miyo wrote:Bug: I don't see dots anymore in scenario prologues... just the X.
Many of the later scenarios especially don't display dots because they haven't been put in. Are you sure it's not one of these you're talking about?
miyo wrote: Bug: save game in the middle of scenario, quit, load the saved game, complete the scenario, save game when it asks about it, quit, load saved game... -> The file you loaded is corrupted.
I'll look into it. Did you change the version of the game you're using between loading and saving or anything?

Oh and I'm looking into the 'forum bug' too :-)

David
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

Dave wrote: Many of the later scenarios especially don't display dots because they haven't been put in. Are you sure it's not one of these you're talking about?
Confirmed. Beginning from Scenario 5 there are no dots.

- Miyo
miyo
Posts: 2201
Joined: August 19th, 2003, 4:28 pm
Location: Finland

Post by miyo »

It would be nice if zooming would work in replay. Load savegame -> unzoom -> hit shift - easier to catch-up fast what was going on.

Same thing for changing zoom during enemy turn.

- Miyo
Post Reply