Can Someone Define Magenta?

Contribute art for mainline Wesnoth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
tvynr

Can Someone Define Magenta?

Post by tvynr »

Hi there. I'm a proto-sub-amateur novice sprite artist (read: programmer who has spent a couple hours in the same room as GIMP) and a friend of mine and I were interested in creating a couple of units for use in an era we want to assemble (read: shamelessly modifying the mainline units because I have no appreciable artistic skill).

I am to understand that the TColors on units are accomplished by the classic translate-the-ugly-color scheme. In this case, magenta is being replaced with the team color in question. My question: what, exactly, is magenta?

My first guess was that the image was loaded into memory using HSB samples and that, then, all pixels of a certain hue would be translated, shifted, or something like that. However, upon examination of the Master at Arms, I see that he uses all sorts of magenta hues between H=324 and H=334.

So is there a range of hues which I can assume to be magenta? And, out of curiosity, is my understanding of the hue-shift correct? I'd assume, looking at the rendered sprites, that there's some saturation changing as well. Or am I completely off?

Thanks for reading! Cheers, all!
Sapient
Inactive Developer

Post by Sapient »

Click Create at the top of the website. Then click Art. Then scroll down to the section Sprite Art, then click Team Color Shifting
http://www.wesnoth.org/wiki/User:Sapient... "Looks like your skills saved us again. Uh, well at least, they saved Soarin's apple pie."
Jetrel

Post by Jetrel »

It's more of a "a specific set of RGB values are hue and luminosity shifted to other values" thing.

The specific set, I went and made a PNG image of - that's the "Team-Color Swatch" listed on that page.