Questions about a non-Wesnoth campaign creation

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

ArchibaldGreen

Questions about a non-Wesnoth campaign creation

Post by ArchibaldGreen »

Greetings.
I apologize if I write in a wrong section (since I'm a newbie who just stepped in here), but since I allow myself such arrogance I'll do my best to be atleast clear on my questions.
I'm currently working on a Single Player campaign, set not in Wesnoth but in an original setting (which I create myself), and before continuing my work I'd like to receive suggestions and directions on further work and to seriously consider if I should continue, or rather create my idea not as a BfW add-on campaign but something else.

1. The year in main.cfg. Since the setting isn't Wesnoth, which years I must assign to "start" and "end" years? Logically (in my subjective opinion), "off-topic" campaigns should be the latest and with a tag "Non-Wesnoth" but I don't know how it's best to do. Please, direct me on this question.

2. The portraits art style. I'm aware it's obligatory for Wesnoth's portraits to be closest to "realistic fantasy" kind as much as possible, and I will confess - I do really like it. However, I want to get information if the same rule applies to UMC, exactly those that are not following Wesnoth events. Would it be allowed for such (non-Wesnoth) campaign to have art style closer to more abstract and unrealistic style (similar to mainstream anime games, or close to it) ?
Since I'm planning to do the art for campaign myself, if it's ok, then I might get on work, but I don't want to be forced to have a classical style portraits for heroes in my campaign...

3. Would it be possible to set a certain EXP cap for unit, during the certain scenario (so player couldn't start the next scenario with overbuffed hero after 400 turns of grinding).