Wesnoth Tutorial: Part I

Feedback for the game tutorial.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Content Feedback
Battle for Wesnoth

Wesnoth Tutorial: Part I

Post by Content Feedback »

Unlike other scenario reviews, reviews of the tutorial are informal. So post your thoughts about the first part of the tutorial here, especially if you are new to Wesnoth.
Mainline Campaigns: Scenario FeedbackDevelopment & Overall Feedback
User-made Add-ons: Feedback
Anym

Re: Scenario Review - Tutorial Part I

Post by Anym »

No reviews so far? OK, more weight to my opinion, I guess. :wink:

Anyway, I'm new to Wesnoth just finished the tutorial and here are my thoughts:

The scenario does a good job a teaching the basics of movement, attacking, healing, recruiting.

The portrait graphics don't always match the units' sprites, for example the colour of Delfador's robe or the shape of Elvish Fighters' blades. (This seems pretty obvious, so I assume it's known and tolerated, but as I wasn't completely sure, I decided to point it out, just in case.)

The graphics for the quintain look a bit ugly and aren't up to the standard of the other units in this scenario. As it is the fourth unit most new players are probably going to see, this mars the (otherwise very positive) first impression a little. (This is very subjective, of course.)

"Hitpoints" is spelled inconsistently: usually "hitpoints", but at least once "hit points" and once "hp". While it probably is obvious that the latter stands for "hitpoints", it might be a good idea to introduce the abbreviation, i.e. having somebody say "...hitpoints (HP)" before using it alone, as is done for "XP". Seeing it as "hp" instead of "HP" looked also a bit strange to me.

Similarly, some uses of colons as punctuation marks struck me as a bit odd, for example "Yes: it's a magical quintain."

It's quite possible to destroy the quintain by turn 4, but even if you do, Delfador will tell you to "End your turn, then attack again."