How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Discussion of all aspects of multiplayer development: unit balancing, map development, server development, and so forth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

User avatar
Divine Crusader
Posts: 57
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 10:49 am

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Divine Crusader »

This.I can't seem to find the cause of it.This is inside the main.cfg.

[multiplayer]

id=Ancient_Maps_Reign_Of_Sahara
name= _ "4p -_Reign_Of_Sahara"
map_data="{campaigns/Ancient_Maps/4p_Reign_Of_Sahara.map}"
description= _ "Explore the Reign Of Sahara and only recommanded for sand terrain units."

{DEFAULT_SCHEDULE}

[side]
side=1
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=1
[/side]
[side]
side=2
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=2
[/side]
[side]
side=3
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=3
[/side]
[side]
side=4
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=4
[/side]

[/multiplayer]

[multiplayer]
id=Ancient_Maps_Poseidon
name= _ "2p-_Poisedon"
map_data="{campaigns/Ancient_Maps/2p_Poisedon.map}"
description= _ "This map is suitable for water terrain units for it needs lots of exploring."

{DEFAULT_SCHEDULE}

[side]
side=1
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=1
[/side]
[side]
side=2
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=2
[/side]

[/multiplayer]

So far,thanks for helping.I starting to understand this system.
You will never escape from justice if you committed a sin that many won't forgive.
Hide all you want but you can't escape from me.
~Divine Crusader~
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Turuk »

Ah, those should be in their own separate .cfgs

The main.cfg should look like this, but obviously with the name of your map pack and not his.
Attachments
Picture 11.png
Picture 11.png (6.91 KiB) Viewed 3761 times
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 5561
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Pentarctagon »

this is the _main.cfg file i have, its name is 'cave_mp.cfg'. its in the campaigns folder along with my other addons.
[binary_path]
path=data/campaigns/cave_mp/
[/binary_path]

#ifdef MULTIPLAYER
{@campaigns/cave_mp}
#endif
[multiplayer]
id=cave_mp_Cave
name= _ "4p - Cave"
map_data="{campaigns/cave_mp/Cave.map}"
description= _ "Most of the terrain is cave path, which has the same stats as grassland. recommend 2 gold per village, meant as a free for all map."


{DEFAULT_SCHEDULE}


[side]
side=1
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=1
[/side]
[side]
side=2
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=2
[/side]
[side]
side=3
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=3
[/side]
[side]
side=4
canrecruit=yes
controller=human
team_name=4
[/side]

[/multiplayer]
this is the .cfg file for the map, its called Cave.cfg and its in the folder called 'cave_mp' which is the name i want for the addon and it is located in the 'cave_mp' folder mentioned above.

the _server.pbl file is also located in the 'cave_mp' folder.

the .map file is saved in a folder called 'maps' insied the 'cave_mp' folder. i made it into a .map file by going to the map editor and adding the .map ending onto the end. i then cut/pasted it into the 'maps' folder.

wesnoth still cannot find the map when loading and im out of ideas, so if anyone knows why it cant, plzplzplzplz tell me so i can finally get this finished.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Turuk »

Pentarctagon, PM me with the folder containing all your files so I can test it on my computer. I can copy these if needed, but I need the map file you are using.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
User avatar
Divine Crusader
Posts: 57
Joined: September 13th, 2008, 10:49 am

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Divine Crusader »

Ok.I did everything but i still can't publish.
It is not easy as it looks.
Do i have to create another file to store my MAP file in my Ancient Maps Folder ?
I just wondered cause i still can't publish.
You will never escape from justice if you committed a sin that many won't forgive.
Hide all you want but you can't escape from me.
~Divine Crusader~
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 5561
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Pentarctagon »

i just tested it out, and you dont even need a map file to get the publish action. or a 'maps' folder. all you need is the _main.cfg('addon name'.cfg), and the _server.pbl file in the right places to get the publish action. all the file can even be completely empty and you should still get the publish action.

i would guess that you dont have them in the right location, because otherwise you should be getting the publish action at the bottom of the add-ons server.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Turuk »

Pentarctagon, yours does not work because you have the name of the map listed as 4p - Cave.map but then you have:

Code: Select all

campaigns/cave_mp/Cave.map
as the path for the map. This is why it cannot find the map.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 5561
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Pentarctagon »

i tried it, and it still said that it couldnt find the map. i noticed that another map, BIG, was having the exact same error. i went and checked and it is a map that comes with ageless era and it was saved as a file, not a .map file. so maybe the problem is that wesnoth is for some reason not saving the file as a .map correctly?
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Turuk »

It's on me for not being clearer. Beyond changing the name of the map file, you have to change the path itself.

That line of code reads:

Code: Select all

map_data="{campaigns/cave_mp/Cave.map}"
It should read:

Code: Select all

 map_data="{@campaigns/cave_mp/maps/Cave.map}"
Works like a charm for me.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 5561
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Pentarctagon »

IT WORKED! Woot! thanks a lot for the help, now i can finally publish the addon once i get the second map on there. :)
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Turuk »

One down, one to go. Divine Crusader, PM me with all your files/folder so I can look through to try to find your problem too.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 5561
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Pentarctagon »

ok, one last thing. i have this

Code: Select all

icon="path.png"
as the icon for the addon, but the addon server thinks that there is no icon. path.png is a terrain image in the core/images/terrain/cave folder.
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
User avatar
Turuk
Sithslayer
Posts: 5283
Joined: February 28th, 2007, 8:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Turuk »

Try including more of the path for the game to find the path.
Mainline Maintainer: AOI, DM, NR, TB and THoT.
UMC Maintainer: Forward They Cried, A Few Logs, A Few More Logs, Start of the War, and Battle Against Time
User avatar
Pentarctagon
Project Manager
Posts: 5561
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 10:50 pm
Location: Earth (occasionally)

Re: How to upload my maps to multiplayer server ?

Post by Pentarctagon »

woot! it worked :). now time to get a second map up there!
99 little bugs in the code, 99 little bugs
take one down, patch it around
-2,147,483,648 little bugs in the code
Post Reply