Developing a new Wesnoth Game

Discuss the development of other free/open-source games, as well as other games in general.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

fernandodev

Developing a new Wesnoth Game

Post by fernandodev »

I apologize if here is the wrong place to post it, but I really couldn't find a better topic.

I would like to create a Wesnoth card game, but what are the implications?

Legal implications?

1. Of course, I also want to be an open-source version.
2. It's not my intention to reuse any code from the current version.
3. Most likely I would have to reuse a lot of assets because I am not an artist. And by that, I mean sound, graphics, etc..

But what am I missing? Am I allowed to reuse those items and even create a new game based on the World of Wesnoth?

Thanks in advance
Yomar

Re: Developing a new Wesnoth Game

Post by Yomar »

I don't think there will be problems, considering that there are already some card games based on Wesnoth.
Beholded Wesnoth's Origins.
Max G on WIF
Rank 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
The_Gnat

Post by The_Gnat »

Hi! If you are interested please have a look at my wesnoth card game I designed. It isn't amazing but it might give you some ideas! :D

https://forums.wesnoth.org/viewtopic.ph ... =card+game

I also went through the same copyright questions and long-story-short wesnoth assets are free to use, I think as long as you distribute them under the same license they currently are. (I have even seen other video games using open source wesnoth images.)

It is nice though if you credit the wesnoth designers! Also, in regards to the game theme, you probably are free to use names and places but again as long as you are not trying to make profit off other peoples work :)
fernandodev

Post by fernandodev »

Thank you very much The_Gnat and Yomar!

and btw, nice game The_Gnat!

I was thinking into create a mobile game, either tatics or card game.
I will elaborate more in the following weeks, maybe creating a blog post with the whole process :P
The_Gnat