Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
hhyloc
Translator

Localize logo into Vietnamese

Post by hhyloc »

Hi!
I've localized Wesnoth logo into Vietnamese. I think it still too bright and the size of each letter doesn't look quite right in the original logo but I just don't know how to fix it
I am not an artist so my logo look somewhat nooby, I'll upload both PNG and XCF file in case you guys want to do something with it.

XCF file: http://www.mediafire.com/?dtdq0yjt3hg

Comments?
R.I.P
Lizard

Re: Localize logo into Vietnamese

Post by Lizard »

Jetrel wrote:
JackBarber wrote:Another thing is you could make the text smaller and set them one atop the other instead of a on top then the rest of it right below.
Absolutely, positively not. Every roman/cyrillic translation must follow the "article on top" + "rest on one line" scheme if at all possible. Doing otherwise breaks the consistent design of the logo.
This is from the french Logo thread. Since I don't know any Vietnamese I don't know for sure which word is the artice. But I belive it should be

Code: Select all

Trân
chiên giành Wesnoth
I'm sorry about the missing dots, my keyboard does not offer them :)
~ I'll heal you by 4 hp if you post next to me ~
Have a look at the Era of Strife, featuring Eltireans, Eventide, Minotaurs, Saurians and Triththa
hhyloc
Translator

Post by hhyloc »

I'm not sure about it, but place only 'trận' atop will break the 'logical' when using Vietnamese, since 'Trận chiến' means 'Battle',

I think it should be:
Trận chiến
giành
Wesnoth

or:
Trận chiến
giành Wesnoth
R.I.P
Jetrel

Post by Jetrel »

hhyloc wrote:I'm not sure about it, but place only 'trận' atop will break the 'logical' when using Vietnamese, since 'Trận chiến' means 'Battle',

I think it should be:
Trận chiến
giành
Wesnoth

or:
Trận chiến
giành Wesnoth
Agreed. Compound words like that don't get split when making logos.