Contribute art for mainline Wesnoth.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting critique in this forum, you must read the following thread:
Eleazar
Retired Terrain Art Director

Map tiles (mountains)

Post by Eleazar »

Hi, i've recently discovered Wesnoth, and enjoyed playing it. :D I have some graphic design/illustration skills, and think i can help with the map tiles. I'm new to this web-based working environment, so i have some questions:

1) Where can i find out what the most recent set of tiles look like?
I'd hate to spend the time duplicating someone elses work.
2) If i was working, for example, on the coast overlaps, and i made appropriate files like "coasts-nw-n.png" instead of just relying on "coast-n.png" could the program use them without too much work?
3) Using partially transparent pgn files is OK? That would make things much easier.
4) if i end up making some graphics that i think improve the look, what do i do to get them included? Post them on the forum?
Last edited by Eleazar on August 6th, 2004, 2:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sangel
Moderator Emeritus

Post by Sangel »

Eleazar wrote:Hi, i've recently discovered Wesnoth, and enjoyed playing it. :D I have some graphic design/illustration skills, and think i can help with the map tiles. I'm new to this web-based working environment, so i have some questions:
First up, let me be the first to welcome you to the forums! New members are always welcome, particularly in the sought-after fields like graphics, sound and music.

In answer to a few of your questions -
Wesnoth uses a CVS system, and the very latest files can always be found online here. In particular, up-to-date image files can be found in this directory. Check the terrain subdirectory to see if what you're planning to work on has changed.