Beginning Campaign Development

Discussion and development of scenarios and campaigns for the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

IVSTINIAN

Beginning Campaign Development

Post by IVSTINIAN »

Greetings.

I am not new to Wesnoth, but I am new to the idea of campaign development. I would like to develop campaigns and scenarios (possibly for use by others) but lack any knowledge of where to start or what to do. I would be most pleased if someone could direct me to where I could find some sort of instruction in coding campaigns, or give me the information needed to create campaigns.

Thank you for your consideration in this issue.
aelius

Post by aelius »

The campaigns are all just plain text files. Open one up and look at it! It's the best way to learn.

The second best way to learn is to click on the "Wiki" link about three inches above this text.

- b.
scott

Post by scott »

Here is how I wrote Liberty.

1. Write a rough story and plot
2. Decide how many scenarios you want to have
3. Divide the story between the scenarios so you can decide what will happen in each scenario
- where are you?
- who are you fighting and why?
- what do you have to do in this scenario?
- where does the hero want to go next?
4. Decide on the "hook" for each scenario. There are a lot of different possible setups for scenarios, and if you want to avoid the boring repetition of "Kill the 2 enemy leaders" you can listing out interesting combinations of enemies, allies, shroud/fog, day/night effects, recruiting and terrain situations, etc. and pick a good mix to keep the combat interesting and fun.

All of this has happened without doing any WML, but now you have enough to start coding.

5. Copy the file structure from another campaign and start editing it. This is especially helpful for the main campaign.cfg. Remember, the name you give your campaign.cfg file and folder is how it will look on the server, so don't pick DLFSK; make it a name.

For each scenario...