Multiplayer for Beginners

General feedback and discussion of the game.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Melbourne

Multiplayer for Beginners

Post by Melbourne »

I just started playing Wesnoth this week, so forgive me if I fall asleep at the keyboard, but I would like some advice about multiplayer.

Is there a beginners guide to multiplayer? I know how to login and join a game. I would like to know the Dos and Don'ts (or protocol), so that I don't annoy anyone when starting to learn the ropes.

For example, if I join a game, how can I tell how long it will take (e.g. how do you convert turns to minutes?)? That way I know I can finish the entire game. How do I know if I can pick a game at beginner level so I don't waste the time of the other players? How long is reasonable to complete your turn? etc.! What sort of things do you need to agree on and communicate and cooperate with the other players via chat?

Are there any good threads in the forum about this?
Started playing Wesnoth in June 2007 and well done for creating such a great game!
Pladio

Post by Pladio »

Depending on map size, amount of players and kind of game, the game varies in length greatly. The time you take to finish your turn shouldn't be more than 2 minutes at the start of the game and 4 minutes once you get more units and more options.
People don't like it when you try out every option and then clicking cancel and then trying it out in a different way and losing time like that.

Planning in advance can help a lot, but sometimes that can't be done .
Quitting a game you started is considered very bad and most people who either have a good memory or write your name down on a piece of paper won't want to play with you anymore. If someone else however is taking ten minutes to finish a turn when has only one thing to do and you quit after having endured that for a while then people won't mind too much.