Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Having trouble with the game? Report issues and get help here. Read this first!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before reporting issues in this section, you must read the following topic:
Post Reply
seahen
Posts: 18
Joined: February 5th, 2009, 9:53 pm

Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by seahen »

scons keeps on reporting the following when I try to build the newest trunk of Wesnoth:

Checking for Lua development files version 5.1... (cached) no
Client prerequisites are not met. wesnoth, cutter and exploder cannot be built.

Although the rest of the script appears to run fine, wesnoth -v still gives me the old version. This happens even after I install liblua-5.1-0-dev. What other packages do I need, and why can't I find the prerequisites for the trunk build documented anywhere?
WildPenguin
Posts: 161
Joined: September 6th, 2005, 10:41 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by WildPenguin »

Note that the result for lua check is cached. You might want to try:

Code: Select all

scons --config=force
seahen
Posts: 18
Joined: February 5th, 2009, 9:53 pm

Re: Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by seahen »

WildPenguin wrote:Note that the result for lua check is cached.
That makes the least sense to me of any design decision I've seen in a program I've worked with.
You might want to try:

Code: Select all

scons --config=force
When I do that, I get

/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -llua
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
scons: *** [wesnothd] Error 1
scons: building terminated because of errors.

Now what's wrong?
User avatar
Iris
Site Administrator
Posts: 6798
Joined: November 14th, 2006, 5:54 pm
Location: Chile
Contact:

Re: Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by Iris »

seahen wrote:That makes the least sense to me of any design decision I've seen in a program I've worked with.
This is why we offer cmake and autotools as equally well-maintained alternatives. :(

No idea what may be wrong. It works for me after installing liblua5.1 and its -dev counterpart in Debian lenny in parallel with liblua50, but for other people the recipe seems to work at random.
Author of the unofficial UtBS sequels Invasion from the Unknown and After the Storm.
User avatar
loonycyborg
Windows Packager
Posts: 295
Joined: April 1st, 2008, 4:45 pm
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by loonycyborg »

What's in build/config.log? Perhaps there's bogus "lua.pc" file somewhere?
"meh." - zookeeper
User avatar
loonycyborg
Windows Packager
Posts: 295
Joined: April 1st, 2008, 4:45 pm
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by loonycyborg »

seahen wrote:
WildPenguin wrote:Note that the result for lua check is cached.
That makes the least sense to me of any design decision I've seen in a program I've worked with.
cached here means that the test program was up-to-date. It generally should automatically figure out to rebuild the test program, e.g. if compile flags or its dependencies change.
"meh." - zookeeper
User avatar
santi
Lord of Wesmere
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 6th, 2004, 12:32 pm

Re: Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by santi »

I tried the latest from trunk with autoconf. I think it was the autogen.sh before configure

Checking for LUA... checking for LUA... configure: error: Package requirements (lua5.1 >= 5.1) were not met:

No package 'lua5.1' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables LUA_CFLAGS
and LUA_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.


I did not have time to look at this, and it may be harmless. The ony question is: Is lua(whatever it is) included in the trunk(in which case it should be a configuration issue) or does one need to grab it and install it separately?
silene
Posts: 1109
Joined: August 28th, 2004, 10:02 pm

Re: Lua dependency when installing from SVN

Post by silene »

santi wrote:Is lua(whatever it is) included in the trunk(in which case it should be a configuration issue) or does one need to grab it and install it separately?
Lua is an external package, you have to install it separately. For install, if you system is Debian-related, just install the liblua5.1-0-dev package.
Post Reply