Getting enough experienced units through Anduin

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

jonadab

Getting enough experienced units through Anduin

Post by jonadab »

Okay, I'm fairly new to the game, and I'm having a hard time evaluating my playing level. I'm playing the Heir to the Throne campaign, and the first time through, when I got to the third level (Anduin), at first it was like a brick wall -- I was getting totally overwhelmed. So I stepped back and analyzed why and determined that it was because the enemy controlled too many villages right out of the gate, and I wasn't taking enough of them from him fast enough. The strategy I'd been using up to that point involved attmepting to maintain a well-balanced force with about two of each kind of unit, but that just wasn't working. So I changed strategy, went back and recruited all scouts, and breezed through the first three levels, no sweat.

But then I got to Elensefar, and my army was *wholly* inadequate. From reading the various comments on these fora, especially regarding Elensefar, it appears my first strategy was closer to correct.

So I compromised, and modified my first strategy: I followed it (more or less) for the first two levels, but then recruited extra scouts when I got to Anduin. However, now I'm having something of a difficult time getting my experienced units through the Anduin level alive. I could, of course, just play the level with expendible units, keep Konrad and Delfador out of harm's way, and go back to army-building on the next scenerio, but I'm not sure that will keep me on track for having what I need for Elensefar.

So then it occurs to me, maybe I'm *already* not on track. Here's what I've done in my latest attempt:

1:TEB:
Konrad got to 11/28 XP
Delfador got to 532/-