Siege of Elsenfar

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

wandering_rogue

Siege of Elsenfar

Post by wandering_rogue »

Is it just me or is Siege of Elsenfar a particularly hard scenario? I'm playing on normal and I have about 300 gold and several lvl 2 units to recall. I've gotten through it once by sacrificing most of my recalled lvl 2 units in a blitzkrieg attack on the island just to see if the strategy would work. But now I'm trying to play it and actually level up new units to lvl2 and some recalled ones to lvl 3 (like a paladin and an outrider).

Side question #1: Is it worth recalling a sorcerous and/or merman fighter with the trident?

Side question #2: If I just get through it by sacrificing lvl2 will I still be able to finish later scenarios?

side question #3: I just started playing BfW but it seems that this scenario is suddenly way harder than the previous ones. Does anyone think this needs rebalancing (if that's the correct term for it)?
"Metaphor is richer than reality." -SG
Tux2B

Post by Tux2B »

It is a very common fact that people who begin playing Wesnoth have troubles with this scenario.
My usual tip is to play the campaign from the beggining a second time.
1. Mermen are very useful in SoE because you need to defend the southern river against the orcs during the night (attack them during the day)
2.Do not sacrifice any of your level 2 units. Try anything else, but if you have only a few of lvl2 units, which I guess is the case, you must keep them all alive.
3.I do not think it needs balancing (it has already been changed a lot since version 0.8.11). There is a challenge in this scenario, as it is the first one where you have to beat two ennemies.
"There are two kind of campaign strategies : the good and the bad ones. The good ones almost always fail because of unforeseen consequences that make the bad ones succeed." -- Napoleon
Yogibear
Retired Developer