Unit Advanacements

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

nukchebi0

Unit Advanacements

Post by nukchebi0 »

I have 6 knights and one spearman about to level up, and I was wondering what advancements I choose, in general and specifically for The Rise of Wesnoth. I was thinking splitting the knight equally into Paladins and Grand Knights, and having the spearman become a swordsman, but I'm not sure. I especially don't know for the spearman, seeing as I've never used loyalist units in a campaign before (whereas I've used horseman in HttT).
monochromatic

Re: Unit Advanacements

Post by monochromatic »

I usually have a ratio of 2:1 Grand Knights:Paladins, unless there's a lot of undead, which then it's vice versa. I've never played TRoW, so I'm not really sure.
For the spearman, I only get javelineers in MP. Swordsmen level into royal guards, which have 6 as opposed to 5 movement, making a strong quick royal guard quite deadly. Though you might also want to level a quick spearman into pikemen/halberdiers, since to royal guards already get a boost in movement. So it's really the traits for me there.
Joram

Post by Joram »

I almost always get Swordsmen. Pikemen are really specialties; they are better than swordsmen in a few cases, but I feel that swordsmen are better overall.

As far as horsemen, I go back and forth on it. I really like the extra move that Paladins get. On the other hand, Grand Knights are definitely stouter frontline units. A 1-to-1 mix would be fine, imo. Some people go more one way or the other, but I believe Grand Knights are generally regarded as being more dependable overall (similar to my feelings above about sword/pikemen; one is better in specific circumstances, the other is better overall)