Test of the Clans

Share and discuss strategies for playing the game, and get help and tips from other players.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

serg3d

Test of the Clans

Post by serg3d »

I have found out about Wesnoth at Slashdot. Thinking that for the newbie the game would be too hard on the medium difficalty I started on the easy.
I was deadly wrong
For first time player game almoste impossible on the easy. Dworven doors! What a sadistic pleasure scenario writer had ! But somehow I limped to the Test of the clan. And here I'm thinking about giving up. With 200 gold, and a really bad choise of the veterans (Look, I already told I'm a newbie) it seems plain impossible even with load/save cheat. Look, you can't expect first time player to know that you need 1k gold for this scenario. It seems scenario designer thought that any first time player safely dropped out long before this scenario. IMO this scenario should be either removed completly or made optional (I vote for removing).
Boucman
Inactive Developer

Post by Boucman »

well...

in wesnoth you are expected to go back a couple of scenarios when in that sort of situations.

I know it's quite suprising, but that's not considered cheating...
Elvish_Pillager
Location: Everywhere you think, nowhere you can possibly imagine.

Post by Elvish_Pillager »

You got to Test of the Clans on your first try!?!?!? :shock:

My suggestion: Try playing on Hard. (Now you're looking at me like I'm crazy.) Seriously, even if it's suicide, you can learn a lot that way.
It's all fun and games until someone loses a lawsuit. Oh, and by the way, sending me private messages won't work. :/ If you must contact me, there's an e-mail address listed on the website in my profile.
Dave
Founding Developer

Post by Dave »

I agree that 'Test of the Clans' isn't really very much fun at the moment; just frustrating. It's going to be seriously revamped -- or removed -- at some point.

David