Favorite freeware game

Discuss the development of other free/open-source games, as well as other games in general.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

litawn

Favorite freeware game

Post by litawn »

Well there's a lot of freeware games out there and I just want to know what everyone's favorites are. My personal favorites are BfW, Cave Story, and Nethack. Other honorable mentions include Warzone 2100, Savage:The Battle for Newerth, and N. If you haven't heard of any of these games (please don't say you don't know BfW) then try them out, you might get hooked. If you know a great freeware game, please post it so I can check them out.
Tomsik

Re: Favorite freeware game

Post by Tomsik »

There's something better than nethack, its name is ADOM. :wink:
Wintermute
Inactive Developer

Post by Wintermute »

ADOM forever! Nethack obviously has some advantages over ADOM, but I agree with Tomsik on this one.
"I just started playing this game a few days ago, and I already see some balance issues."
cool evil

Post by cool evil »

This is a tough one since i presume we're talking about fully-free and/or open-source games, therefore pretty much all of the games that i play won't be 100% compliant. There is one open-source game that i want to touch on, and that is Glest. The game has its problems and lack of features in comparison to other RTS, but it is definitely one of the best for a full freeware game.

Some of the other games i play that are not fully free: Combat Arms, TrackMania Nations Forever, Fate Undiscovered Realms.

Sadly, i can't pick out which freeware game that i favorite. Since there is so many better paid games than there are free ones, it would almost be an understatement to say that you've choose one as the best of your collection.
Have no fear, Vlad is here!
Unnheulu

Post by Unnheulu »

Xmoto, I've wasted so many hours on that stupid game. -.-
Ardent

Post by Ardent »

Since I always loved the old UFO series - Ufo: Alien Invasion