Wonderous Things and Crazy Ideas.

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
Scoundrelous

Wonderous Things and Crazy Ideas.

Post by Scoundrelous »

I'm relatively new to the game. I have just finished several campaigns and scenarios and fiddled with the map editor. I am aware that my suggestions are often over the top, but dreaming is free for now, so I'll just post a long rant and hope something about it will inspire something.

As a big fan of Age of Wonders 1, I can't help but noticing that this game looks just as gorgeous. The units advancing and growing, each with their custom names, are wonderful and unique and there's skills and traits that bring back the good old nostalgia with a new, unique flavor... and I feel I want MORE! Here are some random suggestions to spice up the game (note: don't do it the Age of Wonders way, but rather use the ideas you need, Wesnoth style)

This game allows for easy terrain and unit modification, so why not take this to its full potential? There are some mods that add terraformation so this is definitely possible: traits that make grasslands grow or that turn the grass you touch into a wasteland. Spells that cause floods or use the trees to summon treants/curse the woods so nobody can cross without taking damage.

Magic: magic is generally either a ranged attack with an effect or a melee attack with an effect, but I think magic should be much more. An arch-wizard or a hero should have a vast set of spells to use in different situations. Perhaps even Area of Effect Attacks. Mass blessings and holy auras from old, veteran priests, raising recently deceased as a lich... if you can code it, it exists.