[mainline]/[UMC] Appointing/Recruiting Leaders

Brainstorm ideas of possible additions to the game. Read this before posting!

Moderator: Forum Moderators

Forum rules
Before posting a new idea, you must read the following:
blanco

[mainline]/[UMC] Appointing/Recruiting Leaders

Post by blanco »

Ever since I started playing Wesnoth, I thought it would be nice if I could send out my leader to "fight with the troops" without crippling myself. The idea is this: Give players the ability to appoint and/or recruit units that also have the ability to recruit. It would ruin the feel of the game if everyone could recruit, so maybe it's a good idea to set a max of three extra units the player can appoint that also have the ability to recruit troops.

An improvement this idea would bring to the game is that the leader doesn't have to sit at home anymore. Also, when a player is killed, you could send a recruiting-unit to his (now empty) castle and be able to recruit at more than one place at the same time.

On a side-note, I have noticed that you can start games with "empty" players (which I like a lot by the way), which practically means the game starts with an extra castle with no player in it. If this idea were to be inplemented in the game, these (now unused) empty castles could be used strategically by sending an appointed recruiter or your leader there, without losing the ability to recruit at your starting castle.

Let me know what you think, and if anything is unclear, please ask.
tuggyne

Re: [mainline] Appointing/Recruiting Leaders

Post by tuggyne »

I assume you're mostly talking about multiplayer here, because in campaigns I personally almost never leave my leader behind for long, and because the implications for campaign balance and story would be horrific.